Flyfishing for Lobster

New Year and new beginnings.  I haven’t posted in a while because of some big changes in Smokymountainflyfishing’s life.  I’m three weeks into my new job outside of Boston, and three weeks removed from the Smoky Mountains. I do miss them.  I think of them constantly.

But it’s almost time for some of my favorite kind of fishing.  Exploring new places.  I’ve done some light scouting (go figure), and have a little experience in the Northeast from previous trips.  It looks like the closest trout fishing is about an hour west and I’ll be scouting out some locations with pics soon.  I’ve already got the DeLorme map and a couple of new books to start with the researching.  New Hampshire, Vermont, and definitely Maine will be the locations outside of Massachusetts.

May need a new name for the blog, but we’ll see.  If you have experience around New England, shoot me an email or post on the blog!

Stay tuned for some real fish out of water experiences.

Thanks for reading!

9 responses to “Flyfishing for Lobster

  • Gin Clear

    Welcome to New England!! Please look me up when you get here and I would be happy to show you some local waters. Your going to get here as the stones start hatching.

  • Gin Clear

    There is a little stream just south of you called Red Brook that holds sea-run trout or “salters” I’ve been wanting to give it shot this year. It’s a restoration success story supported by local groups and TU. Check out this nice blog post about it:

    http://smallstreamreflections.blogspot.com/2012/01/red-brook.html#comment-form

    You picked a good year to move to Mass. Just saw this story about the stocking program:

    http://www.mass.gov/dfwele/dfw/recreation/fishing/stocking_information.htm

    I’ll be heading out in the coming weeks and your welcome to join us (my son and I) at any time.

  • Dwight

    I grew up in New England and now live within driving distance of the Smokies. Maine is where you want to be. Point your car northeast of Boston and follow the scent of wild brook trout (and landlocked salmon). And go Bruins!

  • Dwight

    Oh, I forgot. You need to have a Grey Ghost and a Hornberg in your flybox. You don’t have to fish them, but it’s not the same if you go to Maine without them.
    BTW: How am I going to get ideas on fishing the Smokies with you being in Mass?

    • smokymountainflyfishing

      Thanks Dwight! I have fished Rangeley a few times, and have plans for more Maine fishing soon! I still love the smoky mountains, and was just thinking of parting with any of my spots (good karma maybe).

      I don’t know if I have any “secrets”, but if you want any spots to try just let me know and I’ll give them up.

      • Dwight

        I do have a question. Do you know Deep Creek very well? I fish it in early May (before the crowds). I’m wondering how I can know when I’ve reached “Bumgardner Bend.” Books on Smokies fishing refer to it. Is it past campsite #60? Or does it begin at campsite #60?
        And if you know Noland Creek, does it pay to walk upstream a mile or two before fishing?
        I love both of these streams. Heading there in two weeks.

      • smokymountainflyfishing

        I have walked the entire length of Deep Creek, but I’m not sure exactly the name/location of that actual bend. All I know is I don’t ever want to go from the top down and back up again.

        On Noland creek I have always had good fishing without having to walk too far, even on crowded days. I will say there are a few places about a mile where you have steeper banks down to the water. I have caught larger fish in those pools.

        I also talked to a guy there once about how that was a stream built for a Thunderhead and that was almost entirely what he fished. I was doing really well with a yellow parachute Adams, but there were yellow sallies hatching.

        Tight lines when you go and let me know how you do! If you want a spring spot of mine that I’ve done well on, let me know.

      • Dwight

        I don’t want to tire you out– I could go back and forth like this a long time!

        Each Spring my TU chapter (from Columbia, SC) stays in Bryson City but all the guys fish the Nantahala or Tuckaseegee. As it seems does everyone else. I just head into the park. Alas, I’m by myself. The first weekend in May, I’ve never encountered another fisherman on either Deep or Noland creeks!

        I’ve only fished the first mile (upstream from the bridge) of Noland. I actually found it easier to get around on than Deep Creek. Does it get brushier and steeper after that? How far upstream should I walk before fishing? If anything, I find Noland even prettier than Deep Creek. (Last spring my car window was smashed out at the parking lot at Noland!)

        On Deep Creek, the trail leaves the creek upstream of campsite 60 and climbs a low ridge. Bumgardner bend may start here. There are supposed to be pools but I’ve only seen cascading pocket water. The trail doesn’t rejoin the creek for about two miles — a bit far for walking with waders on. Somewhere in here is Bumgardner– the place I have read about in a couple of books.

        Regarding books– you see pictures of sizable looking rivers in the books.
        On the NC side it seems the streams are smallish, with small pools, even way down near the park boundary. Are the streams larger on the TN side? (So far I’ve only been to Deep, Noland, Big, and Catalooche creeks and the Oconoluftee river.)

        Which town do you live in near Boston?

Leave a Reply

